Otago Referees in NZ High Performance Squads

It is with great pride that in 2016 we see two of our Premier referees in Adam Morrison and Mitchell Will selected into the New Zealand High Performance Referee Squads.

Morrison gained promotion to the NZ Development Squad in 2016 after impressing in the Wider Training group last year. Coming off the back of the Otago Premier Final and the Jock Hobbs Memorial National U19 Final, Adam is well placed to once again make his mark, this year officiating in the Mitre 10 Heartland Championship.

Will has also entered the New Zealand system after an impressive season in the Otago Premier Competition, which culminated in a Premier Semi-Final. He has already attended his first NZ Wider Training group camp and is “extremely excited” about what is ahead.

Well done to both these referees on there achievements and we wish you all the best for your representative seasons ahead!

Also featuring are former Otago referees James Doleman and Ben O’Keeffe. Both of these referees forged their way up the ranks in a meteoric fashion whilst studying and working  in Otago. Whilst they have since moved to the provinces of Auckland and Wellington respectively, we are extremely proud to have them as products of our association.

You can find the full list of High Performance Referees below:

Professional Referees
Nick Briant (also Sevens), Mike Fraser, Glen Jackson
Ben O’Keeffe, Brendon Pickerill, Paul Williams
Jamie Nutbrown and Chris Pollock

National Squad
Kane McBride,  Brett Johnson, Angus Mabey, Mike Lash, Cameron Stone, Liam Scanlon, James Doleman, Shane McDermott

Television Match Officials
Ben Skeen, Glen Newman, Chris Wratt, Aaron Paterson, Shane McDermott

Development Squad Referees
Vincent Ringrose, Tim Griffiths, Michael Winter, Richard Gordon, Blair Barclay, Adam Morrison, Nick Webster

Jessica Beard, Richard Kelly, Nick Briant

Referees Scholarship
Hugh Reed

Wider Training Group
Nick Hogan, Boris Jurlina, Richard Loten, Tipene Cottrell, Blair York, Mitchel Will, James Munro , Damien McPherson

2019 Premier Finals Referees

H.McKnight(left),T.Court-Patience(Middle) & D.Brady(Right) Referees of the Central Semi Final between Cromwell & Wakatipu

Congratulations to all Referees that took part in the 2019 Finals. Theses referees below were appointed to the Premier finals, congratulations on your achievements;

Mens Metro Final: Stuart Curran  ARs: J. Bredin & F. Hannon

Women’s Final: Erin Doherty  ARs: E. Brown & C. Neilson

Central Final: Jono Homer  ARs: J. Grubb & L McLeod

Southern Final(top 4): Nigel McLachlan ARs: R. Van Vugt & D. O’Neil

Southern Final(Bottom 4): Ray Wilson ARs: J. Head & P. Standish

Country Wide Final: James Doleman ARs: S. Geddes & B. Fevre

We congratulate all the referees on their achievements throughout 2019.

Doleman makes Super Rugby Debut

James Doleman Referee

James Doleman, previous REO for Otago, has taken the next step in making his Super Rugby debut. James refereed Melbourne Rebels against the Lions from Johannesburg at Aammi Park on 7th March 2020. This comes after great success at the World Under 20 Championship in Argentina, where James was appointed the Final.

James started his refereeing career while a student at Otago University. He then went on to make his first class debut in 2014, when he refereed Wairarapa-Bush and Mid Canterbury in Masterton. He has also been a regular member of the World Sevens Circuit, travelling all round the world.

In the last few years, as well as being our REO, James has been a regular member of the New Zealand Squad with regular Mitre 10 cup appointments and assistant referee appointments to Super Rugby.

We congratulate James on this great honour and we hope his career will continue to reap the rewards.